top of page

Explore Top News by CPAC

Pulling the Top News for you now . . .

CPAC Releases Iowa Legislative Scorecard, Revealing Excellent Republican Lawmakers Bolstered by a Stellar Governor.

ALEXANDRIA, VA (July 23, 2023) — CPAC Foundation’s analysis reveals that Iowa Republicans voted extremely conservative during the session that was scored. This is evidenced by the fact that an incredible 31 of the 32 Republicans in the Senate garnered scores of 90% and above.


Several Iowa state legislators are recognized by CPAC for their conservative voting records based on a just-released analysis from CPAC Foundation’s Center for Legislative Accountability.

The following members of the Iowa State Legislature earned CPAC’s Award for Conservative Excellence for voting with the conservative position at least 90% of the time:


Eddie Andrews (93%)

Mark Cisneros (93%)

Tom Jeneary (93%)

Cherielynn Westrich (93%)

Skyler Wheeler (93%)

Mike Sexton (92%)

Jon Jacobsen (91%)

David E. Maxwell (91%)


Jim Carlin (100%)

Jake Chapman (100%)

Dennis Guth (100%)

David D. Rowley (100%)

Waylon Brown (93%)

Mark Costello (93%)

Chris Cournoyer (93%)

Adrian Dickey (93%)

Dawn Driscoll (93%)

Jeff Edler (93%)

Julian B. Garrett (93%)

Tim Goodwin (93%)

Jesse Green (93%)

Craig Johnson (93%)

Mike Klimesh (93%)

Carrie Koelker (93%)

Mark S. Lofgren (93%)

Jeff Reichman (93%)

Ken Rozenboom (93%)

Jason Schultz (93%)

Tom Shipley (93%)

Roby Smith (93%)

Jeff Taylor (93%)

Jack Whitver (93%)

Craig Williams (93%)

Dan Dawson (92%)

Tim Kraayenbrink (92%)

Zach Nunn (92%)

Amy Sinclair (92%)

Brad Zaun (92%)

Dan Zumbach (90%)

Additionally, a large number of lawmakers in the Iowa State Legislature earned CPAC’s Award for Conservative Achievement for voting with the conservative position at least 80% of the time during the 2022 session.

The bills featured in CPAC’s 2022 Ratings of Iowa address school choice, parental rights in education, government spending, taxes, and protecting women’s sports. These issues, coupled with our mission to protect life, liberty, property and uphold the American family, created the basis by which the CPAC Foundation rated the Iowa legislature.

The Center for Legislative Accountability (CLA), an initiative of the CPAC Foundation, is the premier organization for holding lawmakers accountable. The CLA produces the longest-running conservative congressional scorecard and our state program is the only one in the nation that scores all 8,000 lawmakers in the 50 states across every policy area.

# # #


[email protected]


bottom of page